NEXT EVENT  Saturday, April 20
Rocket Challenge presented by Carquest + USRA Modifieds

Whitehead wins Sunoco USRA Factory Stock National Championship

December 15, 2023

Justin Whitehead is jack of all trades in the Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series, competing in three different divisions during the 2023 season, but it was his dominance in the Sunoco USRA Factory Stocks that earned him a runaway national title.

In his 28 starts this year, the 33-year-old from Texarkana, Texas, knocked down a division-best 15 feature wins while scoring 21 top-five and 24 top-ten finishes along the way.

John Parker Jr. of Dry Prong, La., took runner-up honors in the final points while Whitehead dethroned his arch nemesis and defending Sunoco USRA Factory Stock National Champion Neil Kemp of Mineral Springs, Ark., who finished third.

Parker came out on top of this year’s Summit USRA Southern Nationals at the Boothill Speedway in Greenwood, La. Whitehead won the event in 2018 when it was held at in Kennedale, Texas.

Sunoco USRA Factory Stock 2023 National Championship
Final top 20 points standings showing finishing position, car number, driver, hometown and points earned.
1. 36J Justin Whitehead, Texarkana, Texas, 4414
2. 93 John Parker Jr., Dry Prong, La., 4147
3. 20 Neil Kemp, Mineral Springs, Ark., 4111
4. 10X Chase Hatton, De Berry, Texas, 3826
5. 15X Dakoda Wyatt, Provencal, La., 3819
6. 92T Terrell Evans, Cache, Okla., 3698
7. 5m Michael Harlow, Lake Charles, La., 3571
8. 55M Cody Myers, Bossier City, La., 3452
9. 23 Daniel Jones, Provencal, La., 3415
10. 215 T.J. Evans, Gladewater, Texas, 3337
11. 25 Gary Harvin, Fouke, Ark., 3261
12. 777X Logan Gordon, W. Monroe, La., 3139
13. 8 Chris Sawyer, Robeline, La., 3085
14. 3 Rodney Howell, Colfax, La., 3066
15. 12 Bo Perry, Bossier City, La., 2989
16. 5V Michael Smith, Paris, Texas, 2860
17. 97K Eric Kimbro, Lawton, Okla., 2835
18. 37 Matthew Driskill, Ruston, La., 2819
19. B1 Kyle Cummings, Shreveport, La., 2795
20. 7L Dewayne Rains, Anacoco, La., 2769

Whitehead did his damage this season racing at the Ark-La-Tex Speedway presented by Genuine RV, Boothill Speedway, Rocket Raceway Park, Sabine Speedway and Texarkana 67 Speedway.

Past Sunoco USRA Factory Stock National Champions
2023 - Justin Whitehead, Texarkana, Texas
2022 - Neil Kemp, Mineral Springs, Ark.
2021 - Walter Hamilton, Dallas, Texas
2020 - Walter Hamilton, Dallas, Texas
2019 - Josh Landers, Princeton, Texas

In addition to a $3,000 national points fund check, Whitehead will also earn awards from Summit Racing Equipment, Lone Star Super Gas, Sunoco Race Fuel, AERO Race Wheels, AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Champ Pans, Edelbrock, Gunshepherd.com, JE Pistons, Keyser Manufacturing, Landrum Performance Springs, Performance Bodies & Parts, Quarter Master and Wilwood Racing and others.

The United States Racing Association (USRA) and United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) will host a joint awards banquet on Saturday, Jan. 27, inside the 9,792-square-foot Nevada Ballroom at the Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino to celebrate the 2023 racing season for both organizations.

Tickets include a luxurious dinner featuring a plentiful selection of fine food and a succulent dessert bar. A cash bar will also be available. The cost is $65 per person and can be purchased by calling (515) 832-6000 weekdays from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Tickets sales are available through Friday, Dec. 22, at 12 noon, and then resume on Wednesday, Jan. 3, after the holiday break. The deadline to purchase tickets to the awards banquet is Friday, Jan. 12, at 4 p.m.

A limited number or hotel rooms have been reserved for banquet attendees. Call Harrah's at 800-427-7247 or book online and mention the Group Code “S01US24” to receive the special Group Rate.

Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino offers one of the most exciting hotels and casinos in the heart of America, blending small-town charm with big-city amenities with over 390+ luxurious rooms, a collection of gourmet dining experiences and the area's hottest gaming and entertainment. Visit Harrahs.com for more information.

Alternatively, you can book rooms at Ameristar Kansas City, which is located just minutes from Harrah's. Use Group Code “USRA23” and call (816) 414-7000.

For more than two decades, the United States Racing Association has attracted more and more racetracks and dirt track racers each year through fair, logical and cost-effective rules accompanied by an organization that puts the racers, racetracks and their fans first. During the 2023 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series, more than 60 of America's finest dirt ovals hosted more than 1,000 nights of racing.

To learn more about the USRA, check out USRAracing.com. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. To get USRA news and exclusive promotions delivered to your inbox, click here.

USRA competitors can register for the 2024 Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series online at USRAracing.com/Register or call (515) 832-6000 to register by phone. You can also download the application at USRAracing.com/Downloads and then submit your completed form by email at office@usraracing.com or fax at (515) 832-7958.

USRA OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Racer Racing Tires, Beyea Headers, Chevrolet Performance, Christie Door Company, Fast Shafts, FK Rod Ends, KS Engineering, KSE Racing Products, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Nitroquest Media, PEM Racing Gears & Drivetrain, RacinDirt, Summit Racing Equipment, Sunoco Race Fuels.

USRA PARTICIPATING SPONSORS: Allen Autosports Race Cars, ARMI Contractors, Boubin Tire & Automotive, Brodix Cylinder Heads, DAY Motorsports, Duvall Electric, Gunshepherd.com, Innovative AutoGlass & Window Tint, PBM Performance Products, Star 1 Roofing & Construction, Stealth Thru Tubing, Texas Locomotive Solutions, TNT Auto Parts, YouDirt.com.

USRA CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, Allstar Performance, Bryke Racing, BSB Manufacturing, Champ Pans, Edelbrock, Hooker Harness, Hyperco, Integra Racing Shocks & Springs, JE Pistons, K1 RaceGear by Ryan Bowers, Keyser Manufacturing, Landrum Performance Springs, MD3, Medieval Chassis, MSD, Performance Bodies & Parts, QA1, Quarter Master, QuickCar Racing Products, RacerWebsite.com, Real Racing Wheels, Swift Springs, Sybesma Graphics, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Wilwood Disc Brakes.

USRA RACETRACKS: 67 Speedway of Texarkana, 81 Speedway, Alien Motor Speedway, Ark-La-Tex Speedway, Arrowhead Speedway, Bolivar Speedway, Boothill Speedway, Callaway Raceway, Caney Valley Speedway, Cedar Lake Speedway, Crawford County Speedway, Cresco Speedway, Dallas County Speedway, Deer Creek Speedway, Diamond Park Speedway, Eagle Valley Speedway, Electric City Speedway, Elk City Motorsports Park, Fairmont Raceway, Fayette County Speedway, Gondik Law Speedway, Hamilton County Speedway, Harrah's Kansas City Hotel & Casino, Humboldt Speedway, Hunt County Raceway, I-35 Speedway, I-90 Speedway, Lakeside Speedway, Las Vegas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, Lawton Speedway, Legacy Speedway, Longdale Speedway, Lucas Oil Speedway, Mason City Motor Speedway, Mississippi Thunder Speedway, Monett Raceway, Northwest Missouri State Fairgrounds, Ogilvie Raceway, Outlaw Motor Speedway, Rapid Speedway, Red Cedar Speedway, Red Dirt Raceway, Rocket Raceway Park, Route 66 Motor Speedway, RPM Speedway, Sabine Speedway, Salina Highbanks Speedway, Sandia Speedway, Sports Park Raceway, Springfield Raceway, Super Bee Speedway, Thunder Valley Speedway, Tomahawk Speedway, Tri-State Speedway, Tulsa Speedway, US 36 Raceway, Vado Speedway Park, West Texas Raceway, Winneshiek Raceway.